Throwing Shoes

I had a nice dinner at the taco place by the house. I watched the first half of the Mexico vs Cameroon FIFA U20 World Cup Round of 16. Anyway, I was walking home and I stop at the street light because, of course, I don’t want to get ran over.

I’m standing at the light and I wait for the walking sign to turn on. The light comes on and I start walking.

I’ve done this hundreds of times. I have the right of way. Cars have to wait for me to cross before they can turn. Usually, I can tell when the lead car waiting to turn isn’t going to see me until I’m in the middle of the street and abruptly stop. It’s happened a few times this summer.

It happened again this afternoon.

I start walking. I get a quarter into the street when a car turns right into me. I saw the driver, not seeing me, so I sped up to avoid getting it.

It was still a close call.

Then the driver has the audacity to honk.

Instinctively, I flip her off. oh, it was a lady driver.

But what really bothered me was the second thing that came to mind.

For about 2 seconds, I seriously considered throwing my shoe at her. I thought it was a legitimate response to what happened.

Two things:

1 – I could probably hit her with my shoe. I was pretty pissed off and I could throw it well enough. Shoes have a good flight pattern.

2 – What the fuck would I do without a shoe? I’d have to go pick it up, right?

Why did I think that was a good idea?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Throwing Shoes

  1. Sonia

    I know I know! Because I threw shoes back in the day!
    Signed,
    Me

Leave a Reply

