Good Impression

I don’t make them. I usually leave little or no impression. Is that good? Usually not. I know I’m not cool or anything, but I’d like to think I’m subconsciously following Brad Pitt’s advice from Ocean’s 11. Right before Matt Damon has to do his part in the con Brad says,

“You look down, they know you’re lying and up, they know you don’t know the truth. Don’t use seven words when four will do. Don’t shift your weight, look always at your mark but don’t stare, be specific but not memorable, be funny but don’t make him laugh. He’s got to like you then forget you the moment you’ve left his side. And for God’s sake, whatever you do, don’t, under any circumstances…”

I have that kind of personality. Good impressions aren’t my thing. No impressions are my thing.

This does not bode well for me because getting a job is all about making a good impression. I should change who I am in order to get a job, but that would go against the entire “just be yourself” advice people like to give.

I don’t know what to do tomorrow.

My anti-social, no impression, personality will hide all my great qualities and will leave me jobless longer than my fellow students. I must also take into account the added difficulty of finding a job in NYC, while residing in Dallas. My job search will surely be more arduous than that of my colleagues.

I don’t know why I went with big words up there.

Quote of the Day

Pops: How was the car?

Me: I don’t know. I was scared.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

