Archery and Horses

My sister went to learn some archery today. When she came back, she was telling us how much she liked it. I thought it would be a good idea to go buy some archery equipment and let her practice in the backyard. How dangerous can it be, right?

Maybe we’ll go buy the equipment tomorrow or a little later.

I liked the idea of trying archery. It seems elegant.

I began to picture myself practicing in the backyard. With practice, I would eventually be able to hit the targets that will be positioned on the fence. Then how would I challenge myself?

Honestly, the first thought that popped into my head was: I’d have to try to shoot from horseback.

This was ridiculous for many reasons.

  1. I don’t know how to ride a horse. I’d have to learn how to ride before I could shoot from horseback.
  2. Where would I get this horse?
  3. How would I get this horse in my back yard?
  4. Initially, my thought was to shoot while the horse was galloping. There is no room for the horse to gallop in my backyard.

More realistic ideas that SHOULD have popped into my head before shooting from a horse would have been

  1. Make the target smaller.
  2. Find a moving target.
  3. Quick set-up and shoot.

Any of those ideas make more sense.

psha, horseback. What was I thinking?

PS I didn’t win the lottery yesterday,  so you all missed out on my money give away.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

