Another First Day

Tomorrow is my first day of work.

I thought I would be more nervous. I think I’m not as nervous because I’ve had a lot “first day of . . . ” Let’s see, there was the first day of high school, first day of college, first day at Deloitte, first day at the Bureau of Labor Statistics, first day at the IRS, first day at Balfour, first day at SMU, and first day at other work.

The thing is I don’t really remember what happened those first days. I don’t remember who I meet or what I did. I don’t remember what I had for lunch or what I wore. I guess they must have not been as important as they’re made out. I guess the days that follow that first day are more important. I should probably keep that in mind.

I hope traffic isn’t bad in the morning. ugh, I have to drive the truck. I might need to go buy a new car. If only I didn’t have all that student loan debt. Err, lets end on a happier note. I’m getting a free trip to Jersey!

The great men in literature have usually tried to bring the written word into harmony with the spoken, instead of encouraging an exclusive language to write in. -John Erskine, novelist, poet, and essayist (1879-1951)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

