Pay Me Again

I got paid for the first time last Friday.

It was a pleasant surprise. I wasn’t expecting to get paid until the 30th. The money was really needed. I had racked up a lot of credit card debt to buy work clothes, travel, and I guess eat some food. Student loans became due too. My next week paychecks are already allocated. Looks like I shouldn’t get that new car any time soon.

I’ll be working some overtime soon, in about mid-January. That should provide a nice boost to my bank account in about two months. That’s because I hear that the first 75 hours of overtime aren’t paid out but are converted into paid time off. I am waiting on my CPA bonus. Hopefully, that will come soon. That will definitely take out most of the credit card debt. oh! and my expense reimbursements. That won’t be as much as the bonus, but it should take off a few hundred dollars. Man, I hope the direct deposit works for the next pay period.

I’m trying not to work about money too much. It’s just money. It can only buy happiness. Either way, it doesn’t help too much to constantly worry about money. I don’t want to spend a majority of my life worrying about money.

If money be not thy servant, it will be thy master. The covetous man cannot so properly be said to possess wealth, as that may be said to possess him. -Francis Bacon, essayist, philosopher, and statesman (1561-1626)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

