Fixed the Pro

My mom brought home a broken macbook pro.

I tried fixing it some time before Christmas. I thought it had a bad hard drive so I replaced that. It didn’t work. I looked through some forums and some one said it might be the cable that connects the hard drive to the mother board. I ordered the part online. It turned out to be for another macbook pro model. I got around to ordering the part last week and it arrived on Wednesday I think.

I finally got around to fixing it today. It was that cable. Once I installed, I was able to partition the hard drive. Then I installed the OS X. Then I set up the computer.

It had some screen damage on the top right corner. It was very noticeable on the bright blue installation screen, but it’s hardly noticeable now.

I gave it to the oldest of my younger sisters. She’s the high school one. I had to buy microsoft office for it, but I hope it’s worth it. The whole repair job cost around $175. Add the cost of the software, and the cost to make the computer equipped and functional is $325? It’ll probably be worth it.

There is something beautiful about all scars of whatever nature. A scar means the hurt is over, the wound is closed and healed, done with. -Harry Crews, novelist and playwright (b. 1935)

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

