Almost Dead Weight

I consider this week the 2nd week of busy season.

This week I have been at the client’s office. I’m working with three other guys. They have prior auditing experience. Since it’s busy season, there is a lot of work to do and we want to finish up what we’re working on as fast as possible. Well, we were almost finished with the stuff we’re working on today and I felt bad.

Why? because I thought I was slowing them down. They give me work to do and I do it. Usually, they have to explain the work and they always have to review it. It seems like a raw deal for them. Like I’m giving them more work to do.

And after feeling bad most of the morning and afternoon, I looked at it from a different way. I came up with two possible positive contributions. First, it took less time to explain than it would if they had to do it themselves along with the other things they were doing. Second, at least I took some stress off their minds. I was stressed handling the 4 things I was assigned. I can’t, right now, imagine having 45 different things on my mind. Let’s add 4 things to those 45.

At least, they took some of the formatting/admin stuff off their minds by having me do that work. Also, this week was tough because it was the first time I was doing actual work, but! it should get easier every week. I should get better every week. I should be more useful every week.

I’m excited about that. I’ll try to avoid easy mistakes and think of creative solutions.

Two more work days to the week.
Can’t wait.

There are two kinds of light — the glow that illuminates, and the glare that obscures. -James Thurber, writer and cartoonist (1894-1961)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

