Running for the Board

Tomorrow is a big day.

Tomorrow I’ll submit my application to be on the ballot for the seat of DISD Board of Trustee from District 4. Three month from tomorrow we will know the results. I’ll either be on a Trustee or I’ll have lost absolutely nothing.

I initially got the courage to run because I thought the incumbent was not running. I knew that last year only the incumbents and one applicant ran for the open seats. As a result, the elections were canceled and they were giving the open seats. I figured all I had to do was apply and without a challenger I would be given the seat.

It wasn’t until last week that I found out the incumbent in my district was running. That almost turned me off to running. Life is very busy right now and I probably shouldn’t be adding things to my work load.

But will there ever be a perfect time to run? What finally gave me the courage to run was the realization that I have nothing to lose and everything to gain. If I can’t find the courage to run now when I don’t have anything to lose, then when will I have the courage?

So that’s it. Tomorrow I will turn in the application. I’ll be a candidate for the DISD Board of Trustees.

Let the campaign begin and good luck to me.

P.S. It’s for the kids, duh.

Cut these words and they would bleed; they are vascular and alive; they walk and run. -Ralph Waldo Emerson, writer and philosopher (1803-1882)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

