The Underdog Too

Missed another endorsement.

Like I’ve said, I didn’t expect this, or any other, endorsement. The incumbents are definitely safer choices. These PACs do confuse me. They say they want reform and the best candidates for the Board but they do nothing to recruit any candidates and so far have only endorsed the incumbents.

This PAC does worry me more than the other. The other gave money, but I’m not afraid of money. This one gives volunteers. They give phone calls and knocks on doors. That’s my strategy. Although, I doubt they have real volunteers from my district.

When I’m knocking on doors, the second sentence in my introduction is “I’m from Pleasant Grove”. That’s how I establish my first connection with the voter. There are few similarly powerful connections to make and I don’t think their volunteers can make them.

Although, if they have enough volunteers, that will make a difference. I’d hate to have to get 2,000+ votes to win. That would seem an improbable task with my limited resources. Maybe I should go all out and spend a good 5k on the race. I have a great job. I’ve been broke most of my life. It won’t be much of a change.

I have a few more weekends. I need to come up with a plan for the last three weekends. It looks like that’s when the race will actually be decided. That’s when I’ll have to forget about all the votes I’ve gotten and focus on getting another 2,000 votes, just to be safe. I’ll see if I can take some time off work on Saturdays to campaign hard. I’ll pick my spots. Get volunteers lined up. Put all the signs up. Finish the phone call list. Soon it’ll be too late to register people and the focus will shift to registered voters. I feel like I’m rambling. If I was talking, I would be mumbling right now.

I’ll worry about this tomorrow on the plane.

Ambition is like hunger; it obeys no law but its appetite. -Josh Billings, columnist and humorist (1818-1885)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

