The Last One Out

It finally happened! I was the last person out of the office tonight.

This was the hardest week in all of busy season. It was probably because we had a hard deadline. Either way, in the 5 days I went to work I put in 60 hours.

Anyway, I was the last out tonight. Management assessed the situation and decided today we didn’t have to stay late (we had been staying until around 10:30pm all week). My partner and I had planned to stay late and so had a game plan. Then we were told to skip the middle part of the plan and go straight to the last thing so that we could go home.

I told my partner I could finish up what we needed to do and he left. I stayed about another hour and a half. During that time, everyone else left.

There aren’t too many times when I feel proud of myself. Usually that’s because I don’t really feel it, but staying a little late on Friday after a long week made me feel proud. It finally hit me at that moment that I was an auditor. I am an auditor.

Almost all choices in my life lead up to that moment and I had achieved my goal.

I am an auditor.

If I think too long about it, it amazes me. I achieved my goal. I reached the goal I’ve had since high school.

So after feeling proud of myself, I went out to get a few beers because, well, I deserve it.

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

On a more somber note. It has been a crazy week. First there were the events of Boston and then the situation in West, Texas. I don’t pray often, but this week I gave a prayer to those victims and their families.

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

Truth, like gold, is to be obtained not by its growth, but by washing away from it all that is not gold. -Leo Tolstoy, novelist and philosopher (1828-1910)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

