The Bush Library

Today was going to be one of those days when I don’t post.

I don’t like posting when my day is uneventful. I don’t know how useful it is to post that I’m working a lot and tired. How many times is writing those words too many times? So I wasn’t going to write. But then I remembered! Today was eventful. The George W Bush presidential library was inaugurated.

With the inauguration of a presidential library, you have to look back at that president’s time in office. And that has me conflicted for the following reasons. It was Bush who tried to privatize social security at the beginning of his second term, and luckily failed because the market crashed in 2008. He did send a lot of foreign aid to Africa. That was cool. But he bailed out the banks. But there was a credit freeze.

I guess what really frames Bush’s legacy for me is the Iraq War. I don’t want to get into the lead up to the Iraq War. There was a lot of questionable things done by people in the administration.

We went to war with Iraq because there were WMDs but we didn’t discover any WMDs. Shouldn’t that mean we shouldn’t have gone to war with Iraq? I think so. I think we deserve an apology or at least the public recognition that we shouldn’t have gone to war in Iraq.

The tragedy of 9/11 was enough. We didn’t have to lose American lives in Iraq. Iraqis didn’t have to lose their lives. There is poverty to eradicate, education to reform, and diseases to cure. We didn’t have to waste a decade at war.

For the record, I would forgive Bush if he recognized that we should haven’t gone to war. Until then, I probably won’t forgive him.

One who condones evils is just as guilty as the one who perpetrates it. -Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., civil-rights leader (1929-1968)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

