Surprisingly Unfortunate Week

Looking back at this week, I’ve had some bad luck.

I think it all started with the Camaro overheating last weekend. The engine sounds great. It runs and everything. The only problem is that it overheats when you’re running it. The hoses are in their proper places. The radiator is full of fluid, but it continues to overheat.

Somewhere around the middle of the week, I finally became tired of driving the truck. It doesn’t fit my personality or driving style and it finally got to me. I felt sad driving it. It was literally depressing. Then on Friday, after I filed my campaign finance report, I accident got to close a gardening truck and my side mirror popped off. As a result, I spent the first part of Saturday using silicon to put the side mirror back in place.

Also, at work, the firm let go of around 8% of people. No one at the Dallas office was let go, but I do feel bad because I thought the company was doing better. Although, I do think the layoffs were a result of the lower than normal natural turnover rate. Still, I thought the company was doing better since it is expanding so much.

Maybe I’m looking that this week too one-sided. I did finally go for a jog. It was a great feeling, even though it led to 3 days of soreness. oh! busy season is finally over. I’m getting home at a regular time now. No more getting home at 10pms. Also, the campaign is almost over. That’s an extra big plus. When I look back a week from now it will finally be over.

I feel like I’ve already won. I’ve grown so much as a person. I was volunteering at a carnival for a non-profit yesterday and towards the end of the night I was semi-forced to go up on stage and give an impromptu speech. I was surprised at how much I was . . . not nervous. I was very coherent. A few months ago, I would have still gone up there, but I would have panicked and probably stuttered and said a lot of uhhhs and ummms. I feel like a more open person, which is a big improvement for me who usually prefers to observe interactions than actively participate.

But! there is still more to win. This is going to be a lot of hard work. There’s still so work to do on Monday and Tuesday for the early voting times. Then there is some prep work on Friday and a bunch of work on Saturday. I may be tired, but at least I’m excited.

Our chief want in life is somebody who shall make us do what we can. -Ralph Waldo Emerson, writer and philosopher (1803-1882)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

