First Happy Hour

Work is finally slower.

I got to work early. It was a minute or two after 8am. I had an interesting breakfast of coffee and Reese peanut butter cups. My co-workers went to Chipotle for lunch. I didn’t go. I’ve had enough Chipotle. Instead, I waited until around 1:45 to go to lunch at Off-Site Kitchen. It was delicious. I want to go again tomorrow.

That wasn’t the most interesting part. I went to my first non-work related happy hour with an old friend. The last time I saw her was maybe like a year ago. I’m not too sure. I remember it being warm. I’m not sure how warm it was. Who knows. oh, maybe it’s in the blog somewhere. If only I used names. Then I could just search it.

Anyway, it was nice. We had a nice rapport and it was fun. We talked about work. She talked about her significant other. She asked me about girls. We joked. It was fun.

What got me the most was when she said she’s getting engaged. See, after high school, I’ve only ever hung out with her when she is single. That’s been for one selfish reason. I didn’t want to hear about a boyfriend and have to make up excuses for not meeting him when i was betting the relationship wouldn’t last long. So far, I had avoided all for her boyfriends.

This time, I don’t know. I didn’t think the boyfriend was avoidable. He’s been around a year. They have moved in together. And now surprise, they’re getting engaged.

It’s weird. None of my friends have gotten married. Well actually, for starters I don’t have many friends. Double actually, one of my friends has gotten married. Only one relatively close relative has gotten married. I don’t have a lot of experience with people getting married.

She did ask me if I was worried about getting married. I said no. I gave it a quick think and realized I’m not worried about getting married. Hell, I’m not even worried about finding someone with whom to spend my life. I am not concerned with women, or men, in the least.

She also asked if I was actively avoiding women. I said no, but I am passively avoiding women in three ways. 1) living with my parents, 2) working a lot, and 3) not buying a car. All three are very true. Besides, my standards are way to high. 1) Alison Brie, 2) Zooey Deschannel, and 3) Lizzie Caplan.

What a strange illusion it is to suppose that beauty is goodness. -Leo Tolstoy, novelist and philosopher (1828-1910)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

