More Scared than Not

So I signed up for the ALPFA and DHBA networking happy hour that was today.

ALPFA (Association of Latin Professionals in Finance and Accounting, I think) and the DHBA (Dallas Hispanic Bar Association) hosted the happy hour.

Anyway, I signed up Sunday night. I figured if I signed up and paid the $10 fee, then I would have to go. I also thought that I could send an email out at work on Monday inviting other people to the event and maybe someone else would go with me. Well, I didn’t send the email out.

Either way, today I planned on going to the happy hour. I was dreading it, but I was set on going up until noon. At noon, a few co-workers and I had a lunch with one of the partners at our firm. It was just to catch up with us. Around the end of the lunch, the partner told us how he got to our firm and how he grew the business and how he became partner.

As he told his story, he reflected on how he came by the opportunity by chance. How he took that chance and with hard work and a little more luck turned those efforts into success.

Somehow that scared me.

I suddenly realized I was unprepared for this event. My probability of failure greatly outweighed by possibly successes and I wouldn’t risk it anymore. I didn’t even have an elevator speech. I quickly became afraid of choking. Even the way I was dressed seemed inadequate. This was going to be my first networking event and I looked sloppy. Even my hair seemed weird.

I couldn’t do it. I was afraid.

A hungry man is not a free man. -Adlai Stevenson, statesman (1900-1965)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

