Somedays Are Memorable

Today was my birthday, like for real.

My favorite movie, 500 Day of Summer, has a quote that I really like. Near the very end of the movie the narrator says something to the effect that most days in our lives are unremarkable. Most days begin and end without any lasting effect on the course of a life. It’s too early to say, but today felt like one of those days.

Today was probably the first birthday that I wasn’t sad at any point. I had a great morning. My friend took me to see my aforementioned favorite movie at a private screening. It was weird because it was early in the morning. I usually watch the movie late in the day because it’s a powerful movie and makes me think. As a result of watching it in the morning, I thought about it all day. And! the movie was way more powerful because it was on the big screen! That made it so much stronger. I did like that a few of my cousins had not seen the movie. I’m glad I could share it with them.

Then a decent lunch, some lounging around the house, good dinner, and then the Oddball comedy festival. It was a good time. I left a few minutes before it was over and got to Taco Bell for some delicious tacos. Only delicious because I had a few beers before hand. Then I came home and wrote to everyone who said happy birthday on the facebook while I watched the end of season 3 of The Walking Dead.

Finally, I finished the day with something that took courage. I had put it off for days, but like the quote below says . . .

So why not?

The bitterest tears shed over graves are for words left unsaid and deeds left undone. -Harriet Beecher Stowe, abolitionist and novelist (1811-1896)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

