Maybe Mexico Soon

So my grandpops will probably die soon.

I hear he has stopped eating and drinking things, except for water. My sister says he also has difficulty breathing. Like, he’ll breathe normally, then stop for a bit, and continue to breathe.

My grandpa lived in our garage for about two years. He went to my uncle’s house about two months ago. Since then it’s definitely been out of sight, out of mind.

I came to terms with his impending death a long time ago. It helped that I didn’t like the guy. I’m not really going to feel his death. I hear they are going to ship his body back to Mexico for the funeral. I’m not looking forward to that trip. I don’t feel like I have to go for him. I think I have to go for my parents.

Boo. That’s not how I wanted to spend my PTO or my holidays.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -John F. Kennedy, 35th US president (1917-1963)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

