Hero Syndrome

I think I suffer from hero’s syndrome.

Hold on. I Googled it and apparently that’s already a defined thing. I was going to explain it like this. I think I’ve watched so many movies and television shows were the main character is the hero, or chosen one, in the story, that now I’m expecting to be in heroic situations in my everyday life. I’ve been programmed by popular culture to think I’m special. It also makes me think that everything I’m doing happens for a reason, which will ultimately result in something important.

It’s like that movie, Slumdog Millionaire, expect instead of ending up on Who Wants to Be a Millionaire, I think I’ll end up saving someone’s life, or even the world.

So sometimes that makes me sad because most of my life is pretty ordinary. Any effect I do have on other people, or the world, isn’t easily visible and it’s probably minute.

I wonder if other people have grown up with this same feeling? Can I blame video games? I don’t even play video games, so that wouldn’t work. I wonder if people who grew up reading comics feel the same way. I wonder if girls feel the same way. Maybe what I’m feeling would be like girls feeling that they need to get married and have kids.

On the flip side, this has kept me wanting to be fit and not get fat. It probably also had something to do with buying a stick shift and it always keeps me on my toes. It makes me want to seize every non-stupid opportunity.

Also, it could be worse. Instead of getting hero syndrome from movies/TV, I could have gotten annoying reality TV star habits.

No bird soars too high if he soars with his own wings. -William Blake, poet, engraver, and painter (1757-1827)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

