A March Sunday

Today wasn’t too eventful.

Stuff happened, but nothing important. I woke up and watched the Manchester United vs. Liverpool game. Man! It was awful. Three penalty kicks for Liverpool. Manchester United wasn’t playing well, but that first Liverpool penalty did not seem deserved. After that goal, I knew United would need a fairly quick reaction after the half, so the other penalty was killer. It didn’t get better after that.

Anyway, after the game I went to see the Veronica Mars movie. I liked it. It was quippy. The only part I didn’t like was her attraction to the Logan guy. He was douchey. She should have straight up picked the other guy.

After that, there was the traditional Sunday Whataburger, Then I watched some of the final Avatar episodes. It was the one where Katara finds the man who killed her mother. She blood bends the guy, which was crazy because she felt such disdain the first time she was tricked into blood bending. After that, there was a cool play episode that summarized the entire series. It was cool. Then I watched final four Sozin’s comet episodes, well, three. I’ve yet to watch the last one. I will after this post. oh, and I worked for a few hours.

It’s been such a crazy ride. One thing I didn’t initially notice when I watched these episodes a year ago was the pacifism of the Avatar. He really, really did not want to kill the Fire Lord. Sure, it would have been easy for the protagonist to want to kill the antagonist. I would go as far to say that he was justified in killing the antagonist because of all the evil things he had done. But the show didn’t go that way,. It went a more honorable way.

The lionturtle summed this up in his only three lines.

The true mind can weather all the lies and illusions without being lost. The true heart can tough the poison of hatred without being hard. Since beginning-less time, darkness thrives in the void but always yields to purifying light.

I hope when I find myself, my true mind and true heart isn’t shameful.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

