Seeing Some Progress

One of the things I liked about all those years of school was the obvious progress I would make every year.

At end of every school year, or some times around Christmas/New Years, I would look back at last year and at least feel like I was going somewhere, like something was getting done. Even when I wasn’t sure where I was going, at least I was moving in some direction towards something.

I guess the job I have right now is kinda like that too. Every year I move up a little and I suppose can eventually top out at Partner, or leave as a manager/senior manager. But that would only take 5 to 10 years, what am I supposed to do after that? I know that sounds a little silly, but I’m going to be pretty disappointed if I don’t like at least another 30 years. That being the case, what do I do the other 2o years?

Wait, this isn’t the direction I wanted.

oh right, anyway, I was looking back on things today and feeling like I hadn’t made much progress in a while. The last time I really accomplished anything was those few weeks I learned how to drive standard. That was like last November/December.

I think that’s because the acquisition negated some of the progress I made last busy season. Everything I learned about the old system, our old audit approach, and our old audit procedures, isn’t useless, but it isn’t as helpful as I thought it was. Although I hoped that stuff was transferable, I don’t think much of it will.

Other than work stuff though, I think I’ve made some progress. I started learning Portuguese for the trip to Brasil and I’ve kept up with it after I returned. I’ve gotten better at Spanish too. I think I’ve gotten smarter, although I don’t have anyway to prove it. It’s just a hunch.

I guess it’s bothering me because I think if I’m not improving then I’m just standing still, or worse I’m deteriorating. That’s not the way I want to live life.

But, at least I feel like I’m a better good person. Doesn’t that count for something?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

