Avatar Over

Like I’ve said before, while I was in my teenage years, I saw an anime called Avatar: The Last Airbender, on Nickelodeon. Like most animes, it was a fantastical adventure about a group of teenage kids who have to save the world. The show had strong female characters, both protagonist and antagonists, and treated them equal to male characters. Please see this article, from BitchFlicks, which has a quick overview of some of the female characters in the show.

A few years after the end of Avatar: The Last Airbender, the series creators premiered a follow up series titled The Legend of Korra with a female main protagonist. This series continued their portrayal of strong female characters with a few minor stumbles, like a classic/traditional love triangle. Please see this article, from the Artifice, which sum up some of female characters through the third season, stumbles included.

The fourth season, and series, finale was last Friday. As well as being an emotionalĀ  episode for fans like myself who had invested almost 10 years of our lives into the characters, it also helped me realize how progressive the show was by having an amazing ending.

Throughout the fourth season, I sensed possible romantic interactions between the main female protagonist and another female protagonist. I thought my mind was just fucking with me and that society had programmed me to think all good female friends were just going to make out all of sudden, because, you know, slumber parties always end with girls in their panties having pillow fights.

It’s shameful because if I know women can have healthy close relationships and I’m disappointed there aren’t many representations of that in entertainment.

Anyway, the series finale, had an open ending, in terms of the relationship between these two female characters. I don’t think I could explain it between than this article from The Mary Sue.

Overall, I think it’s very important that this positive representation is made. I think I forgot to mention that the main character was also a minority. I can’t stress enough how amazing these two show (Avatar: The Last Airbender and The Legend of Korra) were. These are shows I’ll have my children watch, if I ever have kids.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

