The Worst Email

When days are slow at work I usually check my email, weather, they ESPN app, and Twitter 3 to 4 times a day. I don’t remember ever finding anything shocking, important, or well, memorable.

Since busy season started on Monday, I hadn’t had time to check that stuff while at work. It’s bad because I get home and still feel like I have to check all that stuff, so I ended up wasting precious relaxing time checking that. Yesterday, I don’t know why, but I was looking through my client’s files and I decided to check my all of that stuff.

I checked Twitter first. Nothing crazy. Then I checked my email and I read the worst email.

An old friend of mine moved to Japan about 2 and half years ago after college to teach English. I knew her in high school. She was really cool in high school and ended up moving away halfway through senior year. She’s been a pen pal of sorts since then and that’s how we became really good friends. I actually wanted to visit Japan this summer and have her show me around, since she’s been there for more than 2 years now.

I wrote her a few days before Christmas. She responded yesterday and said she was happy to receive my email when she did. She seemed more thankful that usual. We’re usually more fantastical and aloof. After thanking me for the email she told me her father had skin cancer, which I thought ouch that sucks but skin cancer isn’t too bad, right. Then the next sentence floored me. She said it was stage 4 and it had spread and developed tumors in the brain and lungs.

Whatever document I was looking for didn’t seem important anymore. It seemed rather silly and particularly pointless.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

