Another Time on Ice

Last Friday was the end of my first week in San Antonio.

I decided to stop in Austin to see my friend before driving to Dallas later that night. It had been snowing in Dallas on Friday and the roads iced over. I still thought it would be a good idea to drive into Dallas.

The drive from Austin to Waco was easy. Although, the car did slide around temple. I hit an ice patch on a highway overpass, the car slide, and I had to counter steer. Luckily, I was fine. So after that, from Waco to the house it took 2.5 hours. It was a slow test of endurance, but I made it. That’s three years in a row of driving in the ice. It might be four. The blog knows.

It was really dangerous, but it was something I felt I had to do. I know it’s the same level of risk if I do it now or some time in the next 20 years, but what if I’m married or have a kid by then. Then I won’t just be putting my life and livelihood on the line. I’ll be putting my spouse and kids on the line too. I may be reckless, but I’m not that selfish.

This Friday I think I’ll drive directly home to Dallas. I should be sufficiently tired by then.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

