Love Over Lunch

About a week ago, I went out to lunch with a few of the co-workers.

One of the them, the one with the boyfriend of 5 months, brought up a conversation about love. Specifically, she asked the married guy how he knew he was in love. The married guy gave a decent response. She didn’t look too convinced. She asked my other coworker and I. We generally agreed.

The conversation moved to prenuptial agreements. The instigator and the married guy were adamantly against the idea of a prenuptial agreement. They said signing one would mean that you didn’t believe the marriage was going to work. My other coworker and I didn’t agree. We thinks it’s practical.

The rest of the conversation wasn’t as exciting.

Anyway, I brought home the issue home.

First, I asked my mother how she knew she was in love. She tried to explain, but she has never been the best at explaining. She was fine with the prenuptial agreement. Nothing crazy. She kept trying to explain what love feels like, which I wasn’t really interested in. I know what love feels like. I just don’t feel it.

My dad walks in and we bring him in to the conversation. He’s a little better at explaining, but that’s because he listens. He was fine with the prenuptial agreement. He was better with the explaining what it feels like to be in love, but again, that wasn’t my question anymore.

The question the ended out lunch and the question that I wanted answered was whether people change and if you can still love that person once they change. I think my mom thought people changed, but once you loved someone, you were stuck with them. You’d have to love them no matter what. My dad didn’t believed that people changed. Or maybe he does believe they change a little bit, but he definitely doesn’t think they change enough to fall out of love with them.

But people do change.

They have to, or I won’t fall in love.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

