The Unassigned Time

I’m fairly disappointed in myself.

I’m wasting too much time. I’m watching a lot of TV, which wouldn’t be too bad if I was doing something else while I watched TV. I could be working out, or drawing something, or even messing with my Yugioh cards. Its my fault of course. All the TV watching is because I want to be current with the shows Arrow and The Flash. That means I have 3 seasons of Arrow and 1 season of The Flash to watch in a hurry, because the new episodes won’t be on Hulu for more than 4 or 5 weeks, and we’re already 2 weeks into the new seasons.

That’s not even the worst part. What makes me even more disappointed than the TV watching is all the sleeping. I used to only take naps Sunday afternoons. This week I was taking a nap every day. They weren’t even short naps. They were from 1-2 hours. It’s not like I was sleeping less than 6 hours a night. I was sleeping 7 to 8 hours a day. I shouldn’t be tired.

It didn’t help that this week I was unassigned at work. These last few weeks, since I started, I have been going to new clients and meeting new people, which I have enjoyed. Learning about the new clients and the company’s audit processes and procedures has made me feel productive. It’s made me feel alive. Sure, all the driving and working cut down on my free time (TV time), but that’s alright. I would make that trade-off. I make that trade-off every year during busy season.

What also bothers me, but what is also my saving grace, is that I could stop this at any point. There’s nothing stopping me from stopping, from not taking naps, from doing something else while I watch TV, from doing something else after I catch-up on Arrow and The Flash.

There’s so much I want to do.

At some point I should stop being so hard on myself and just do them.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

