Double I O

I did two inventory observations this week.

The first count was on Tuesday. It was a warehouse that stored cable boxes and digital tv equipment.

It wasn’t too bad. I only had to count 12 items, but three of them were over 100,000 items. Luckily, I know how to multiply so things weren’t so bad. What prevented the whole thing from being easy was that there was a miscount on the biggest item and we ended up counting it three times.

This first count was on my schedule for 8 hours, but it ended taking around 10. That didn’t include the one and half hours to and from the place. Once I finished and sat in my car to start my drive back, I realized how tired I was. I had been standing the entire day and my legs were buzzing.

The second count was on Wednesday. It was another warehouse that distributes and sometimes reworks jeans.

It wasn’t too bad either. The counts weren’t ready when we arrived. So we waited. We waited about two hours until we got enough information to do a majority of the count. The problem was that after we had to wait another 3 hours for the final counts to be ready. It was a lot of waiting.

Luckily, by that point there were only 5 items to count so one of the three of us could go home. I was the chosen one.

I got home at around 6:00pm on Wednesday. I was a bit hungry, but I couldn’t find anything appetizing to eat. I ended up falling asleep instead. I woke up about 5 hours later. I had the craziest dreams during those 5 hours. I dreamt about warehouses and pallets. I dreamt I was counting. I found some leftovers to eat and had trouble going back to sleep.

I woke up today still feeling tired and dizzy.

It was an exhausting couple of days.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

