Unfinished Business

Two weekends ago I took care of some unfinished business.

I started my road trip last summer by going to Yosemite. I didn’t really have a plan, so when I arrived I looked for a map of the trails. There were a few trails that ranged in time and difficulty. I landed on two main options.

There were two nearby trails, the lower trail and the higher trail, that ran next to waterfalls. The lower trail was estimated at 2-3 hours and the higher trail was estimated at 6-8 hours. I didn’t think I had enough time for the higher trail, so I decided to do the lower trail and another 1-2 hour trail.

The lower waterfall trail ended up taking me about an hour and a half. It was super easy. Then I went on a second trail and it was also super easy and about about hour and a half. The second trail was also a bit disappointing, visually.

After I left the park, I kept thinking that I should have gone on the higher waterfall trail. I probably could have knocked it out in 4 hours, which was the time I thought I had to hike.

So two weekends ago, I went to hike the upper waterfall trail.

It was not easy and it did take about 6 and a half hours to complete. It was difficult. Beautiful, but difficult.

I took my friend and she slowed me down. She didn’t slow me down on the way up, but she was way too cautious on the way down. She easily cost me half an hour to an entire hour on the way down. I left wondering how long it would have taken me if I had gone alone.

But hey, now I had some additional unfinished business.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

