Girls on a Plane

It finally happened. I had a middle seat between two young attractive ladies.

I honestly never thought it would happen. It seemed like one of those modern myths. The odds always seemed too low. But hey, it happened.

Nothing happened obviously. They’re just people. Both were asleep half of the time. One sleep with her mouth open. I think she drooled a bit. I don’t know. I didn’t want to stare. The other did some homework type thing. She had notes and was highlighting on them. She also took out her laptop and was looking at some tissue or cell slides. I’m thinking she was some sort of medical student. Oh man, maybe she was a doctor and I blew it.

But yea, nothing happened. Why would it? I finished reading my Spider-Man and Deadpool comic, then tried to sleep, then realized my headache had gone away, then wrote two blog posts. Now I’m writing a third on the cab ride back to my place.

Being between those two girls reminded me that the first book I read this summer started that way, kind of. I think the guy was sitting next to a girl in yoga pants and bigger sweaty guy.

I’ll remember that as the book that started my current phase of insecurity and self-reflection.

I’m still not back to where I was before I read the book. Back when I was completely sure of myself, but I’m less. Less something. The only word that seems appropriate is good. I’m less sure that I’m good.

I guess that’s the thing. I used to be completely sure that I was good. I knew I wasn’t perfect, but at least I thought I was now a good person.

Anyway, I didn’t have the same thoughts that’s guy had in the book once he sat next to that girl. So that’s a huge plus, because that means I’m not a monster. That’s a good take away.

Not great, maybe good, not a monster.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

