Another Evaluation Again

I had another evaluation last week. 

It happened pretty quickly because I had completely forgot about. See, you have to request an evaluation in order to get one. I request it right before the job, like you’re supposed to, then the job happened. It didn’t go as smoothly as I had hoped, so I wasn’t eager for it. Then I rolled off the job, got busy, and completely forgot about it. 

So I get an email that is labeled as urgent from HR telling me to complete that evaluation as soon as possible. I ended up reaching out to my boss. Luckily they were already working on it, so we turned it around pretty quickly. Unfortunately, before they gave me the formal evaluation we needed to have a phone call to discuss it. 

I wasn’t nervous until the call started. I think that was because I was pretty busy beforehand. Anyway, after the pleasantries, the boss starts off by asking me what I think went right on the job. Honestly, I couldn’t think of anything. There were things I wanted to point to that seemed good, but most of them ended worse than they had finished during the last job. So I didn’t bring those up. 

I started a few sentences, but they were quickly aborted. After a silence of about 10 seconds, I told the boss I couldn’t really think of anything that went well. It was mostly meh. 

So he ended up starting it off. He went through things I did well and then lead into areas for improvement. The main example of how I could improve was that excel mistake I had made that was caught late during the first week. It was the one I wrote about a few weeks ago. I knew that was going to bite me in the ass. 

What I didn’t like about that was that this little mistake became the crux of the improvements section. Are people not allowed to make a mistake anymore? I fuss improvement criticism is mostly just “don’t make those mistakes again.” Oh well, it’s easy enough to not do again. I don’t typically make the same mistakes. I make brand new mistakes. 

The craziest part is that I ended the evaluation with a better…grade/rating than my other evaluations. But still, I felt worse about it than all the others. I think that’s because I knew it was a disappointing showing. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

